Kansas Mental
Health Coalition

KMHC Monthly Meeting

  • May 24, 2017
  • 9:00 AM - 11:30 AM
  • Valeo Behavioral Health Center Basement Conference Room, 330 SW Oakley, Topeka, KS


Registration is closed

Kansas Mental Health Coalition

Speaking with one voice to meet critical needs of people with mental illness.


Click on underlined items for web links.

May 24, 2017   Monthly Meeting                         

Valeo Behavioral Health Center, basement conference room, 330 SW Oakley, Topeka, KS

(teleconference access 1-515-739-1285, enter  567518 - KMHC has changed to a teleconference service that might incur charges for members.  If the fees become a burden to members please forward your bill to the treasurer at andy@headquarterscounselingcenter.org )   

Meeting room wi-fi: Guest@ccess

Introductions and sign-in sheet   Eric Harkness presiding

Minutes of the previous meeting.   Read minutes.

9:15 a.m. Reports

   Board of Directors - next meeting is June following the regular Coalition meeting.      

   Financial Report - Andy Brown

   Mental Health Month - Andy Martin, NAMI, and Bethany Anderson #TearStigmaApart

   Advocacy Committee –Grassroots Advocacy Network - Heather Elliott - Committee meets today following the Coalition meeting.

   Governor’s Behavioral Health Services Planning Council – Wes Cole

   Mental Health Medication Advisory Committee - Amy Campbell

   Big Tent Coalition - Rick Cagan

10:00 a.m.  Annual Elections - Jane Rhys presiding

Current Officers and Board

2017-2019  President – Sue Lewis (1st full term)

2015-2017  Vice President – Eric Harkness (1st term)  

2017-2019  Secretary - Jane Rhys (1st term)

2015-2017  Treasurer – Andy Brown (1st term)





Andy Brown

Jane Adams

Glen Yancey

Susan Crain Lewis

Rick Cagan

Eric Harkness

Sky Westerlund

Walt Hill

Kyle Kessler

Carol Manning

Bill Persinger

Stephen Feinstein

Bob Chase

Jane Rhys

Patrick Yancey

Nominations for Board of Directors:   Eric Harkness, Kyle Kessler, Dana Schoffelman, Meghan Cizek

Request Nominations from the Floor

Nominations for Officers:        Vice President – Eric Harkness,  Treasurer - Andy Brown

Request Nominations from the Floor

Thank you to Glen Yancey and Stephen Feinstein for their long service to the Coalition, as Board members and also as Past Presidents.

10:30 a.m.  Kansas Legislative Update - Amy Campbell

Veto Session

11:00 a.m.  KDADS Programs and Update  - Sheli Sweeney, Behavioral Health Director

Carrie Billbe, Consumer Liaison - SAMHSA Technical Grant - bringing recovery supports and technical assistance strategies to states.

11:25 a.m. Announcements

11:30 a.m. Adjourn

For more information, contact: Kansas Mental Health Coalition

c/o Amy A. Campbell, Lobbyist, P.O. Box 4103, Topeka, KS 66604

785-969-1617, fax: 785-271-8143  campbell525@sbcglobal.net

(c) Kansas Mental Health Coalition, P.O. Box 4744, Topeka, KS  66604  785-969-1617

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software