Kansas Mental
Health Coalition

KMHC Annual Business Meeting

  • May 22, 2013
  • 9:00 AM - 11:29 AM
  • Valeo Behavioral Health Center, 330 SW Oakley, Topeka, KS


Registration is closed

Kansas Mental Health Coalition

Speaking with one voice to meet critical needs of people with mental illness.

Annual Business Meeting Agenda

Click here for PDF Version


May 22, 2013    Valeo Behavioral Health Center, 330 SW Oakley, Topeka, KS 

(teleconference access 1-877-278-8686, enter 820091   use codes: *7 mute  /  *9 unmute)

9:00 a.m.  

Introductions and sign-in sheet                     David Wiebe, President

Financial Report                                            JoLana Pinon, Treasurer                          

Minutes of the previous meeting.

§         Annual Elections (requires majority vote)

2013 Officers –

2012-2014 President – David Wiebe (1st term)

2011-2013 Vice President – Rick Cagan (1st full term)

2012-2014 Secretary - Eric Harkness (1st term)

2012-2013 Treasurer – JoLana Pinon (1/2 term)

2013 Board Members – (19 members/25            positions)
(2011-2013)                        (2011-2014)                  (2012-2015)

Rick Cagan                         Gerald Snell                  Mike Hammond
Roy Menninger                   Tom Pletcher               Susan Crain Lewis
Glea Ashley                        Danette Tipton                         Sky Westerlund
Julie DeJean                       Jane Adams                 Stephen Feinstein

Walt Hill                              Eric Harkness               Carol Manning

David Wiebe                       Glen Yancey                 Bob Chase

                                                                              JoLana Pinon

Nominations and Election of Board Members  /  Open Nominations from the floor:

Rick Cagan, Roy Menninger, Glea Ashley, Walt Hill, David Wiebe


Nominations and Election of Officers  / Open Nominations from the floor:

Officer Slate:  2013-2015  Vice-President – Rick Cagan          (first elected May 2011)

                                    2013-2015  Treasurer – JoLana Pinon              (first elected May 2012)                           

§        Board of Directors Report – meet July 24 at noon

9:15 a.m.   Reports 

Advocacy Committee –Grassroots Advocacy Network - Rick Cagan / Sue Lewis        

Governor’s Mental Health Services Planning Council – Wes Cole

SPTP Task Force

GBHSPC Subcommittees

Mental Health and Aging Coalition  

Children’s Issues  

9:45 a.m.  Legislative Report and Discussion – Amy Campbell 

            The Legislative Veto Session has gone past the 80 day session goal

Budget Negotiations

    KMHC is tracking multiple MH planning activities at the state level:

•1.     Governor’s Mental Health Initiative - RRSC Advisory Committee / Contract Re-Design Committee / Stakeholder meetings / GBHPSC Task Force Review of Mental Health System

•2.     Rainbow Mental Health Facility planning – Hospital and Home / Regional Stakeholders

•3.     SPTP Task Force (GBHSPC sub-committee)

•4.     Integration of Behavioral Health and Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (KDADS and GBHSPC)

•5.     Integrated Block Grant application – Virtual Reflection Sessions  (no formal role for GBHSPC)          

10:00 a.m.  Special Guest Presentation:    The integration of Juvenile Justice Authority and Dept. of Corrections - Ray Roberts, Secretary, Dept of Corrections   and   Terri Williams, Acting Commissioner

10:45 a.m.  Hospital and Home: Rainbow Mental Health Facility planning   David Wiebe

11:00 a.m.  KDADS Update:  Angela Hagen, Director of Behavioral Health

11:25 a.m.  Announcements:

11:30 a.m.  Adjourn

KMHC Meetings:  9 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.    2013:  Jan 23, Feb 27, March 27, April 24, May 22, June 26, July 24, Aug. 28, Sept. 25, Oct. 23, Nov. 20, Dec. 18

Board Meetings:  12 noon quarterly the 4th Wednesdays (March 27, July 24, Sept 25, Dec 18)

Annual Meeting & Elections:  May 22

For more information, contact:                                                                                                            Kansas Mental Health Coalition

c/o Amy A. Campbell, Lobbyist

P.O. Box 4103, Topeka, KS  66604

785-969-1617, fax: 785-234-9718, campbell525@sbcglobal.net

David Wiebe, President

5608 Cherokee Circle, Fairway, KS  66205

913-645-6175; dwiebe@kc.rr.com



(c) Kansas Mental Health Coalition, P.O. Box 4744, Topeka, KS  66604  785-969-1617

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software